Reviews Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car

01:57  11 november  2017
01:57  11 november  2017 Source:   Motor Trend

Auto-Showdown: Audi R8 V10 RWS vs. Porsche 911 GT3 Touring

  Auto-Showdown: Audi R8 V10 RWS vs. Porsche 911 GT3 Touring A closer look at the two enthusiast specials from FrankfurtNo one is ever going to mistake an Audi R8 or a Porsche 911 for a Toyota Prius. They're clearly high-performance coupes no matter how you order them. But even with a 540-hp V-10 tucked right behind the driver's seat, it's impressive how little Audi did to differentiate the RWS from the regular version.To most people on the street, the R8 for hardcore driving enthusiasts could easily be mistaken for any other R8. You don't even have to order the red stripe if you don't want it.

Pro driver Randy Pobst hot laps the 2017 Porsche 911 Turbo S around Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for Motor Trend ' s 2017 Best Driver ' s Car .

Long the performance flagship of the Porsche 911 line, the Turbo S adds a healthy dose of crazy. Rather than mess with success, this 991.2 iteration tackles the only criticism of the previous Turbo S : It wasn’t wild enough. Some will feel even this version is too sterile; they’re nuts.

Long the performance flagship of the Porsche 911 line, the Turbo S adds a healthy dose of crazy. Rather than mess with success, this 991.2 iteration tackles the only criticism of the previous Turbo S: It wasn't wild enough. Some will feel even this version is too sterile; they're nuts.

The Hellion: 1985 Porsche 911 Turbo SE Owned by Judas Priest Guitarist Headed to Auction

  The Hellion: 1985 Porsche 911 Turbo SE Owned by Judas Priest Guitarist Headed to Auction <p>The car proved so impressive to Tipton and his bandmates that it became a muse of sorts, inspiring them to collaborate on their 1986 hit “Turbo Lover” and name the album simply Turbo.</p>As Tipton tells it, the band visited the Porsche factory in Stuttgart while on tour, and he was so impressed with the engineering and the meticulous build process that he had to have one. Later, he contacted his local U.K. dealer, Swinford Motors of Stourbridge, who informed him of the new SE derivative and arranged for him to take factory delivery of a Chiffon White 1985 Porsche 911 (930) Turbo SE while the band was on tour in Germany.

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

- This is information for you from Porsche 911 car with the article that titled with Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Porsche ’ s PDK dual-clutch automatic transaxle remains, as do the all-wheel- drive system, electronically adjustable shock absorbers, carbon-ceramic brakes, front splitter, and rear wing.

Research

2017 porsche 911
porsche 911

Porsche fitted two new variable-geometry turbos to the 3.8-liter flat-six engine, which now conjures 580 hp and 516 lb-ft of torque—or 553 lb-ft in temporary overboost. An anti-lag system keeps the throttle open but cuts the fuel during shifts to keep air flowing. Porsche's PDK dual-clutch automatic transaxle remains, as do the all-wheel-drive system, electronically adjustable shock absorbers, carbon-ceramic brakes, front splitter, and rear wing. A new Sport Response button gives you 20 seconds of on-demand sharper throttle response, and a new rear-wheel steering system sharpens the handling.

It's Best Driver's Car week! Don't miss the incredible story of how we chose the 2017 Best Driver's Car right here, and stay tuned for the World's Greatest Drag Race, coming soon.

2018 Porsche Panamera Turbo S E-Hybrid

  2018 Porsche Panamera Turbo S E-Hybrid A turbocharged and electrified glimpse of Porsche's future.Of course, we may be biased. We were at the new Canadian road course specifically to make “racetrack noise” in Porsche’s new 680-hp four-seater, the $185,450 Panamera Turbo S E-Hybrid. Alternately silent and violent, the plug-in Turbo S E-Hybrid should deliver between 15 and 20 miles of pure-electric driving when fully charged and rocket to 60 mph in less than three seconds when fully pressed.

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

The result is the hardest-launching car we've ever tested, at 1.26 g of horizontal force. Tesla? Nope. Demon? Nuh-uh. From a stop, this 911 will dust a Bugatti Veyron to 60 mph—just 2.5 seconds. The quarter mile flashes past in a stunning 10.6 seconds, at which point you'll be traveling at 129.6 mph and pulling hard. It pulls hard in corners, too, registering 1.05 average g on the skidpad and 0.95 average g during a brief 22.9-second figure-eight lap. Stopping the 3,557-pound missile from 60 mph takes only 92 feet.

2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-front-three-quarter-01.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-front-three-quarter-01.jpg We Say

"My litmus test for whether a car has a shot at taking the BDC crown is what I'm doing with my head and shoulders when driving. If I'm cocking my head and leaning into the turns along with the vehicle, I am in sync with my steed. We are one; the man-machine interface is engaged, the singularity has occurred. It happened with the winning McLaren 570S last year.

2017 Porsche Macan Turbo with Performance Package First Test: More Is Better

  2017 Porsche Macan Turbo with Performance Package First Test: More Is Better How much performance does the Performance Package actually add?For a 4,500-pound crossover, those are some seriously impressive numbers. And the experience behind the wheel is just as commendable as it looks on paper. "The Macan is the type of car you can get in and just drive for hours—it's equally at home at the track as it is on the highway, and, somewhat surprisingly, off-road," noted features editor Christian Seabaugh.

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

Read more about 2017 Best Driver ’ s Car contenders: Winner: Ferrari 488 GTB 3 rd Place : Porsche 911 Turbo S 4th Place : Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE 5th Place : Mercedes-AMG GT R 6th Place : Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio 7th Place : Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport 8th Place

"I'm doing that head tilting, lean in thing whilst carving the canyons in the Turbo S. It is nearly the complete package. So fast and completely unflappable. It's really hard to find a flaw here. Just so fast. Smooth. Lovely to hear the wastegates dump as you lift throttle and the beats of silence between gearshifts. But yes, a more thrilling sound from the back would be appreciated. Unbelievably fast. It is really a focused tool intended for one purpose: going very fast." Ed Loh

Read about other 2017 Best Driver's Car contenders:

  • Ferrari 488 GTB
  • Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE
  • Porsche 718 Cayman S
  • Lexus LC 500
  • Mercedes-AMG GT R
  • Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio
  • Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport
  • Aston Martin DB11
  • Nissan GT-R NISMO
  • Mazda MX-5 Miata RF
  • McLaren 570GT
  Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend Staff

"Goose bumps—it's so easy to handle. Steering is stiff, but it gives you exactly the kind of feedback that you want to feel on a road like this. The sound coming from the engine is superb. Suspension is rigid but comfortable. I felt the confidence to go faster on the corners and push for more. The 911 stands out not only for its handsome looks, but also for that great feeling of confidence that it delivers when you drive on windy roads." Miguel Cortina

2017 Porsche Panamera First Test Review: The Ultimate Four-Door Sports Car

  2017 Porsche Panamera First Test Review: The Ultimate Four-Door Sports Car <p>With improved styling atop a new platform, Porsche's redesigned Panamera blitzes the speed trap</p>Hunkered low like a 911—even the revised tail end styling lays claim to the 911's iconic buttocks—the Panamera is a true four-door sports car. But having four doors doesn't necessarily make it a sedan, and that means your passengers might have to make a sacrifice or two in exchange for sating your sports car lust.

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

Listings

Powered by

"So, so, so capable on 198. But the trade-off of having such a highly capable car is that it's quite a bore to drive in normal situations, which is likely how the 911 Turbo will be driven 91.1 percent of the time. It's really boring on the road. But again, great car to drive hard." Erick Ayapana

2017 Porsche 911 Targa 4 GTS First Test: Performance, Value, and Style

  2017 Porsche 911 Targa 4 GTS First Test: Performance, Value, and Style 20 seconds to drop the top, 3 seconds to drop an Audi R8 V10The Targa body style has been a fixture of the 911 line since 1966, but it took until 2015 for Targa and GTS to appear together. Consider GTS to be a sort of high-performance value package, built for speed as well as comfort (unlike the pricier, race-hardened GT3, which loses its rear seats and various creature comforts in pursuit of pure performance). GTS is available on rear- and all-wheel-drive coupes and cabriolets and Targa models (all-wheel drive only), and it represents a savings of about 10 percent over an identically specced S models.

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-front-three-quarter-in-motion-02.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-front-three-quarter-in-motion-02.jpg

"To me, this is the perfect driver's car, in that you can do it all: drive for hours and hours on an interstate, then suddenly twist a dial to sport plus, put the hammer down, and the 911 leaps to life, assured, forceful, and pragmatically intense. It is so composed, so nailed down, so very fast, and so full of grip. There is never a hint that something might go awry. It squirts out of the apex and fills you with so much confidence. If you carry too much speed into a corner, lay into the brakes through that entry portion of the curve, and the 911 just tucks in and says, 'Yeah sure, we got this.'" Mark Rechtin

"My god it's so capable and so easy. The engine almost feels lazy while piling on the speed. It's really deceptive how powerful it truly is even at low rpm. It's amazing how much confidence this car gives a driver. Not just the brakes, but the steering and the stability. The car shrinks around you and becomes an extension of you. I'm looking for a complaint, and I can't find one." Chris Walton

"There's a reason this car is at the top of the rankings in any competition. The 911 Turbo S is so amazingly competent on every level—without having any visible compromises—that it's easy to forget how high its limits are. Right out of the box, the 911 Turbo S lets you drive as fast as you dare, brake as hard as you can, and turn as much as you wish. It doesn't just inspire confidence it inspires a relationship with the driver." Derek Powell

2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-side-in-motion.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-side-in-motion.jpg Randy Says

"Yeah, the 911 Turbo S was super great, but it almost seemed a little bit unsatisfying. Somehow? This 991.2 has so much more torque than the last GT3s, any GT3 I ever drove. And it's just so satisfying to drive. The balance under power is amazing to me. Knowing how little weight is on those tires especially when you're under about 0.9 g acceleration in second gear, and it doesn't push under power. This car seems more rewarding to drive to me, and it really ... it blows away some great cars. I guess 'cause it's easy? But it's rewardingly easy. It's not boring; it's satisfying. It just makes me feel like I could drive better than I really can. I literally said that to myself, driving off of turn 11.

Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car

  Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car The 911 gets even wilder

Read more about 2017 Best Driver ’ s Car contenders: Winner: Ferrari 488 GTB 2nd Place : Porsche 718 Cayman S 3 rd Place : Porsche 911 Turbo S 4th Place : Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE 5th Place : Mercedes-AMG GT R 6th Place : Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio 7th Place

News. Porsche 911 Turbo S : 3 rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ' s Car . MotorTrend - 2 days ago. Acura NSX: Hot Drive , Tepid Image. Barron' s Online - 1 day ago. 2017 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 PDK Automatic.

"In the slower corners, when the revs are down, there's no sense of lag whatsoever. I love the way it'll dig off the corner without understeer. I could go to the power really early, and I'd just know that a lot of cars would want to understeer under this condition. And it doesn't, it just comes on. Just fascinatingly, thrillingly good.

  Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend Staff

"You have to be just a wee bit careful about entry oversteer. Don't leave that weight on the nose for too long on a high speed corner. It takes a real specific combination of great on-the-nose, aggressive turn-in, and off throttle to bring the tail out. A couple of times when it came out it still was not scary. It was a pleasant experience. Back to the power, and there you go. I'm just really, really impressed.

"With PDKs you're just wasting your time shifting manually. It might be fun just to do it for the fun of it, but it's completely unnecessary to shift yourself. The brakes held up completely; even the tires held up. I mean, the loads, what they're going through is mind-bending. The amount of speed, the amount of braking, and how hard those tires are worked—they still hold up. The car retains its balance. I just seem to be able to repeat my braking performance. I was in so deep a couple times halfway through the brakes I thought maybe I wouldn't make this. But then it would slow down enough and ride into the apex, and away we'd go. It's a nice, firm pedal, and that means the braking performance is repeatable. It also made me push it harder.

2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-side.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2017-Porsche-911-Turbo-S-side.jpg

"I don't feel the rear-steer except that, maybe, it's my guess that it's one of the ways they keep the front traction in the middle of the corner when it really shouldn't have any, but the car responds to the steering wheel in the middle of the corner. Low-speed, high-speed, anything you want. I think I set my speed record over the corkscrew.

Porsche 718 Cayman S: 2nd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car

  Porsche 718 Cayman S: 2nd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car Porsche's well-balanced sports carThe major change: a turbo flat-four replaces the flat-six Caymans have had since birth. Displacing just 2.5 liters, it pumps out a flat-six-beating 350 hp and 309 lb-ft of torque. Both manual and automatic transmissions are available; we went with the PDK dual-clutch automatic. With it comes a Sport Response button, which unleashes 20 seconds of sharper throttle response. Lift, and the throttle stays open with the fuel off to keep the turbo spinning. In addition to new chassis tuning, the rear suspension is wider, and the steering rack has been lifted from the 911 Turbo.

2017 Porsche Macan Turbo with Performance Package Fi 2017 Audi RS 3 First Test: Power and Prejudice. Car Comparison Tests. Autonomous Infiniti Q50 ProPilot Prototype First Ride. Best Cars of the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show.

"It's a real testament to what's possible with modern technology when you are creating a sports car and you know what you're doing. It's an amazing piece of machinery. A living testament to how good a car can be with the stability control off."

  Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend Staff
2017 Porsche 911 Turbo S
POWERTRAIN/CHASSIS
DRIVETRAIN LAYOUT Rear-engine, AWD
ENGINE TYPE Twin-turbo flat-6, alum block/heads
VALVETRAIN DOHC, 4 valves/cyl
DISPLACEMENT 231.9 cu in/3,800 cc
COMPRESSION RATIO 9.8:1
POWER (SAE NET) 580 hp @ 6,750 rpm
TORQUE (SAE NET) 516 lb-ft @ 2,100 rpm*
REDLINE 7,200 rpm
WEIGHT TO POWER 6.1 lb/hp
TRANSMISSION 7-speed twin-clutch auto.
AXLE/FINAL-DRIVE RATIO 3.44:1(f) 3.33:1(r)/2.06:1
SUSPENSION, FRONT; REAR Struts, coil springs, adj shocks, anti-roll bar; multilink, coil springs, adj shocks, anti-roll bar
STEERING RATIO 12.5-15.0:1
TURNS LOCK-TO-LOCK 2.5
BRAKES, F; R 16.1-in vented, drilled, carbon-ceramic disc; 15.4-in vented, drilled, carbon-ceramic disc, ABS
WHEELS 9.0 x 20-in; 11.5 x 20-in forged aluminum
TIRES 245/35ZR20 91Y; 305/30ZR20 103Y Pirelli P Zero Corsa N0
DIMENSIONS
WHEELBASE 96.5 in
TRACK, F/R 60.7/62.6 in
LENGTH x WIDTH x HEIGHT 177.4 x 74.0 x 51.0 in
TURNING CIRCLE 60.7/62.6 in
CURB WEIGHT 3,557 lb
WEIGHT DIST, F/R 39/61%
SEATING CAPACITY 2+2
HEADROOM, F/R 37.7/32.2 in
LEGROOM, F/R 42.2/27.1 in
SHOULDER ROOM, F/R 51.3/47.9 in
CARGO VOLUME 4.1 cu ft (+9.2 cu ft beh fr seats)
TEST DATA
ACCELERATION TO MPH
0-30 0.9 sec
0-40 1.4
0-50 1.9
0-60 2.5
0-70 3.3
0-80 4.1
0-90 5.1
0-100 6.2
0-100-0 9.7
PASSING, 45-65 MPH 1.3
QUARTER MILE 10.6 sec @ 129.6 mph
BRAKING, 60-0 MPH 92 ft
LATERAL ACCELERATION 1.05 g (avg)
MT FIGURE EIGHT 22.9 sec @ 0.95 g (avg)
2.2-MI ROAD COURSE LAP 1:33.21 sec
TOP-GEAR REVS @ 60 MPH 1,500 rpm
CONSUMER INFO
BASE PRICE $189,150
PRICE AS TESTED $196,360
STABILITY/TRACTION CONTROL Yes/Yes
AIRBAGS 8: Dual front, fr side, fr curtain, fr knee
BASIC WARRANTY 4 yrs/50,000 miles
POWERTRAIN WARRANTY 4 yrs/50,000 miles
ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE 4 yrs/50,000 miles
FUEL CAPACITY 17.9 gal
EPA CITY/HWY/COMB ECON 19/24/21 mpg
ENERGY CONS, CITY/HWY 177/140 kW-hrs/100 miles
CO2 EMISSIONS, COMB 0.93 lb/mile
RECOMMENDED FUEL Unleaded premium

Porsche 718 Cayman S: 2nd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car .
Porsche's well-balanced sports carThe major change: a turbo flat-four replaces the flat-six Caymans have had since birth. Displacing just 2.5 liters, it pumps out a flat-six-beating 350 hp and 309 lb-ft of torque. Both manual and automatic transmissions are available; we went with the PDK dual-clutch automatic. With it comes a Sport Response button, which unleashes 20 seconds of sharper throttle response. Lift, and the throttle stays open with the fuel off to keep the turbo spinning. In addition to new chassis tuning, the rear suspension is wider, and the steering rack has been lifted from the 911 Turbo.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!