Reviews Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE: 4th Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car

01:58  11 november  2017
01:58  11 november  2017 Source:   Motor Trend

Chevrolet's New NASCAR Race Car Will Look Like a Camaro ZL1

  Chevrolet's New NASCAR Race Car Will Look Like a Camaro ZL1 <p>Goodbye, Chevy SS</p>"Racers have long relied on Camaro to win races and championships in amateur and professional sports car and drag racing, as well as the NASCAR Xfinity Series," said Jim Campbell, Chevrolet's vice president of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. "We look forward to racing the Camaro ZL1 in the premier Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

Pro driver Randy Pobst hot laps the 2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE around Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for Motor Trend 's 2017 Best Driver ' s Car .

Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 . Motor Trend . 2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE Hits the Track on New Ignition. Motortrend - Stefan Ogbac WordsAugust 30, 2017 .

We've all heard about the bad old days at GM when no car was allowed to challenge the Corvette's performance supremacy. Those days are long dead. Team Camaro has applied its 1LE handling philosophy to the monstrously powerful ZL1, and the resulting monster is the most track-capable road car GM has ever sold.

The Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R Race Car is Now For Sale

  The Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R Race Car is Now For Sale <p>Anyone can now get their hands on a Camaro GT4 race car, for a price</p>The two race teams that have purchased the Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R have competed in and won races in the 2017 Pirelli World Challenge GTS Drivers, Manufacturers, and Team championships and the 2017 IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge Series.

Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . 2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE First Test Review. 2017 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 vs. 2017 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350R: The Forever War.

Pro driver Randy Pobst hot laps the 2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE around Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for Motor Trend 's 2017 Best Driver ' s Car .

Research

2018 chevrolet camaro
chevrolet camaro

Up front, the standard Camaro ZL1's 6.2-liter supercharged V-8 still makes 650 horsepower and 650 lb-ft of torque because frankly it didn't need to make more. Being an enthusiast's car, a six-speed manual is the only transmission on offer. An electronically controlled differential rounds out the powertrain. Out at the corners, magnetic shocks are replaced with Multimatic spool-valve shocks, and like the rest of the suspension, they're hard-mounted with metal bushings, not rubber. The ride height, front camber, and rear anti-roll bar are all manually adjustable. A bigger grille improves cooling, and dive planes on the front corners and a massive rear wing provide downforce across the car. Equally massive brakes do the stopping.

2019 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500: Rumor Roundup

  2019 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500: Rumor Roundup Ford is potentially working on a mega-powerful Mustang to challenge the Camaro ZL1 and Challenger Hellcat. Here's what we've heard.Pictured above: the 2014 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500.

Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 . Motor Trend . 2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE Hits the Track on New Ignition. Motortrend - Stefan Ogbac WordsAugust 30, 2017 .

Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ' s Car . 6 days ago. Introducing the iconic, reinvented, sixth-generation Camaro ZL 1 sports car : see more at Chevrolet .com.

It's Best Driver's Car week! Don't miss the incredible story of how we chose the 2017 Best Driver's Car right here, and stay tuned for the World's Greatest Drag Race, coming soon.

Related Video: 2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE Hot Lap!

What to watch next
  • Dodge Challenger Hellcat Widebody: A cheaper Demon or more sinister?

    Dodge Challenger Hellcat Widebody: A cheaper Demon or more sinister?

    The Drive Logo
    The Drive
    5:20
  • See Bentley's beautiful rotating display in action

    See Bentley's beautiful rotating display in action

    The Drive Logo
    The Drive
    0:36
  • a machine on the field: Off-road Fun in the 2017 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Recon

    Off-road fun in the 2017 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Recon

    The Drive Logo
    The Drive
    0:58
  • 2017 NSX Vs 1992 NSX

    Original NSX vs. New NSX

    Super Street Online Logo
    Super Street Online
    1:17
  • a yellow and black truck sitting on top of a car: The best trucks with ridiculously high lifts at SEMA

    The best trucks with ridiculously high lifts at SEMA

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    0:53
  • If you want everyone on the road to get out of your way, the Tank is a solid choice.

    Rezvani Tank at SEMA: a bullet-proof Jeep Wrangler

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    1:15
  • a truck driving down a dirt road

    2018 Hennessey Ford Raptor 6x6: When four wheels just won't do

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    0:46
  • a man standing in front of a restaurant: In This Garage Full Of Corvettes, There's A Pace Car With Only 300 Miles!

    In garage full of Corvettes, a pace car with only 300 miles!

    Discovery Channel Logo
    Discovery Channel
    2:19
  • If this doesn't fit into a 1992 Civic hatchback shell, I will make it fit.

    The Civic Type-R crate engine is what we want shipped to us

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    1:00
  • Chevrolet

    Even more Woo-hoo for the ZR2

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    5:03
  • From 0 to 60 in 3 Seconds: The Tesla Model X P100D Ludicrous Mode

    From 0 to 60 in 3 Seconds: The Tesla Model X P100D Ludicrous Mode

    The Drive Logo
    The Drive
    3:37
  • a silver and black car: Honda EV Sports Concept zaps its way into our hearts

    Honda EV Sports Concept zaps its way into our hearts

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    0:43
  • Toyota TJ Cruiser Concept

    Toyota TJ Cruiser: The SUV-minivan hybrid you didn't know you wanted

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    0:53
  • The Kai is less revolution and more evolution, which isn't a bad thing.

    Mazda Kai Concept: the next-gen Mazda3 will be a stunner

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    1:11
  • Engine holy grail: Gas, diesel or electric?

    Engine holy grail: Gas, diesel or electric?

    Roadshow Logo
    Roadshow
    4:11
  • This camouflaged prototype caught testing in southwest Michigan sure looks like the long-rumored mid-engine C8 Corvette.

    The mid-engine C8 Corvette has been spotted out in public

    Road & Track Logo
    Road & Track
    1:33
UP NEXT
UP NEXT

Put it all together, nail the launch, and you'll see 60 mph in 3.6 seconds and an 11.7-second quarter mile at 123 mph flat. Going the other way, the 3,837-pound ZL1 1LE will stop from 60 mph in a scant 91 feet. Put it on a skidpad, and it'll pull 1.11 average g. Fling it at the figure eight, and you'll get a 23.0-second lap at 0.93 average g.

The Chevy Camaro Track concept is a 1LE by another name

  The Chevy Camaro Track concept is a 1LE by another name Basically it's a 1LE with an automatic transmission.For the 2017 Geneva auto show, Chevrolet has trotted out a big, green, track-ready Camaro that isn't called a 1LE. It's called the Camaro Track concept. It also has a different graphics package consisting of unique black stripes on the hood and roof. They're paired with a custom "satin green" paint job.

Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . 2017 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 First Look Review. HOT ROD Throws a 2016 Chevrolet Camaro SS on the Dyno (W/Video). Recent Reviews.

2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-front-three-quarter.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-front-three-quarter.jpg We Say

"This car needs five-point harnesses because the dampers are so unforgiving. It's true this 1LE has incredible grip; however, the compression damping is way too harsh while the rebound damping is just right. I'm not sure where they tuned this, but it clearly did not have a lot of bumps and jumps. The steering is freakishly quick. It took me three corners to calm my hands down, so I didn't steer into and across the apex. The power seems to be well matched for the chassis, for a change, unlike the Z06. Third gear seemed very tractable and had a wide bandwidth. This feels like what I imagine a '60s-'70s Trans Am car would be like." Chris Walton

"I know Jonny loves this car, but I just can't warm to it. Probably because I've lost all my fillings, and my kidneys are bruised. With the exception of the best roads, the ride in this Camaro is punishing. I've encountered smoother paint mixers. I had to remind myself that based on the numbers, this car is fantastic. Endless grip, fade-free brakes, abundant horsepower. But the thing is, I didn't care. The bouncing was so bad that I found myself reacting to that instead of focusing on sheer act of driving. The Camaro might be brilliant on the track, but I wouldn't want to drive this to get there." Derek Powell

Chevrolet Colorado ZR2 Midnight, Dusk Editions Gear up for SEMA

  Chevrolet Colorado ZR2 Midnight, Dusk Editions Gear up for SEMA <p>For when a regular ZR2 looks too pedestrian</p>Related Link: Research Chevy's latest models on MSN Autos

Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ' s Car . Best Cars of the 2017 Frankfurt Motor Show; BMW i Vision Dynamics Concept First Look; The Escalade Dilemma – The Big Picture; 2019 Toyota RAV4: What to

Car New | Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE : 4 th Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car We’ve all heard about the bad old days at GM when no car was allowed to

2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-front-three-quarter-in-motion-04.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-front-three-quarter-in-motion-04.jpg

Read about other 2017 Best Driver's Car contenders:

  • Ferrari 488 GTB
  • Porsche 911 Turbo S
  • Porsche 718 Cayman S
  • Lexus LC 500
  • Mercedes-AMG GT R
  • Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio
  • Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport
  • Aston Martin DB11
  • Nissan GT-R NISMO
  • Mazda MX-5 Miata RF
  • McLaren 570GT
2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-front-three-quarter-in-motion-05.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-front-three-quarter-in-motion-05.jpg

"Simply tremendous tremendous grip, tremendous brakes, and tremendous power. And how about that third pedal? This added that special connection to the vehicle that the Ferrari or 911 Turbo simply can't match, which is why I ranked it higher than those two fancy (and expensive) machines. With the Camaro, I felt like I—not some fancy software—had a big part in conquering 198." Erick Ayapana

"That's a driver's car! When the aero and the tires shake hands, it's a moment of revelation. You are suddenly driving a hard-mounted race car. Unreal. So much power, so much control, so much stopping ability. An absolute monster of a machine. This is an uncaged race car. Being able to actually use all 650 horsepower and 650 lb-ft of torque is mind-boggling. I'm not sure how this car isn't a podium finisher." Jonny Lieberman

Mecum Set to Auction Two Beautifully Restored 1969 Camaro ZL1s

  Mecum Set to Auction Two Beautifully Restored 1969 Camaro ZL1s <p>Two is always better than one when it comes to pony cars.</p>Finding a 1969 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 is like hitting the jackpot, but getting your hands on two is pretty much unfathomable until now. According to Mecum Auctions, a pair of 1969 Camaro ZL1s will be auctioned off on January 11th, 2018 in Kissimmee, Florida.

Choosing the 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Christian Seabaugh Words, Motor Trend Staff September 20, 2017 . Motor Trend . 2017 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 vs. 2017 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350R: The Forever War. Motortrend - Jonny Lieberman Words, Drew Phillips

Choosing the 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Christian Seabaugh Words, Motor Trend Staff September 20, 2017 . Motor Trend . 2017 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 vs. 2017 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350R: The Forever War. Motortrend - Jonny Lieberman Words, Drew Phillips

  Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE: 4th Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend Staff

"Long name, amazing results! Everywhere a competitor put a wheel in the air, the Camaro stuck like glue. There's a lot of vertical movement in the cabin, but the car just sticks no matter what. It never jumps sideways a foot when it hits a mid-corner bump, never moves around laterally at all. Even when it feels like you've carried too much speed into a corner, it sticks. I can't count how many times I put the throttle flat on the floor. In a 650-hp car this stiff on this bumpy road, that's seriously impressive. The eLSD takes a little getting used to. If you start to feed in power mid-corner, the car turns in more as the diff gets to work. Steer with the throttle? Yes, please!

"Brakes have huge stopping power and great pedal feel. Squeeze, don't stomp, and get exactly what you want.

"I thought this car would be too stiff for the road, and that's coming from someone who drove the Z/28 for a year. I was wrong." Scott Evans

2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-rear-three-quarter-in-motion-01.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-rear-three-quarter-in-motion-01.jpg Randy Says

"It was not perfectly balanced for me. I'm really trying to smear a little lipstick from the perfection here, but it would go from a little teeny bit of understeer, which was perfect, to a little bit of oversteer, which is almost perfect. But when we put it in the context of what it is, which is a front-engine rear-drive car with 650 horsepower, the traction was incredible. It put down power extremely well, I could drive it with everything turned off, and for me, that's just so much more satisfying.

"The dampers felt great. Basically I never thought about it. Which means nothing came into my awareness as being, oh, this is too stiff. Or that is too soft. I don't sense roll. So when I just turn for the corner, it just lies over there. That's not good terminology because I don't feel it roll. I'm sure it does, but I don't feel it. Which means it's got good damping. When I'm down in the corner, in the middle, I still have a steering response, and I can still tighten it up.

Two More Extreme Chevrolet Colorado ZR2s Debut at SEMA

  Two More Extreme Chevrolet Colorado ZR2s Debut at SEMA <p>Off-road-ready Chevy show trucks roll into Vegas</p>Research Chevy's latest models on MSN Autos

Buick LaCrosse: 2017 Motor Trend Car of the Year Con Since its launch in 2012, the Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 has developed a reputation for being the muscle car of the Camaro lineup. The debut of the 2017 Camaro ZL 1 helped change that perception with its more track-capable performance, and

Buick LaCrosse: 2017 Motor Trend Car of the Year Con The ZL 1 1 LE proves that there’ s a Camaro for almost everyone. While the base model starts at just ,900, the track-focused 2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL 1 1 LE will set you back ,995.

2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-side-in-motion.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2018-Chevrolet-Camaro-ZL1-1LE-side-in-motion.jpg

"It was happy coming out of the corkscrew. That's always hard in a powerful rear drive car. Put the power down. When you're in a low gear and it's a hard right. It wants to power oversteer. But this one was pretty damn good. Especially at that power level. See, we have to keep this in context.

"The car generated a tremendous amount of braking force, but for the first time in any high-performance Camaro, it had a long pedal. I was pumping it a little bit, and I remember going up that Corkscrew thinking, 'Jesus and Heaven above, let these work.' And boy did they work. It stopped so well. It was very, very pleasing and satisfying how late I could brake in this—what is a relatively heavy car. It's light for a Camaro, a supercharged Camaro. A bad driver could crash it immediately, but for a reasonable guy who can drive really fast and doesn't need stability control, this is the ultimate pony car right now."

  Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE: 4th Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend Staff
2018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 (1LE)
POWERTRAIN/CHASSIS
DRIVETRAIN LAYOUT Front-engine, RWD
ENGINE TYPE Supercharged 90-deg V-8, alum block/heads
VALVETRAIN OHV, 2 valves/cyl
DISPLACEMENT 376.1 cu in/6,162 cc
COMPRESSION RATIO 10.0:1
POWER (SAE NET) 650 hp @ 6,400 rpm*
TORQUE (SAE NET) 650 lb-ft @ 3,600 rpm*
REDLINE 6,500 rpm
WEIGHT TO POWER 5.9 lb/hp
TRANSMISSION 6-speed manual
AXLE/FINAL-DRIVE RATIO 3.73:1/2.00:1
SUSPENSION, FRONT; REAR Struts, coil springs, anti-roll bar; multilink, coil springs, adj anti-roll bar
STEERING RATIO 11.1:1-15.1:1
TURNS LOCK-TO-LOCK 2.3
BRAKES, F; R 15.4-in vented, 2-pc disc; 14.4-in vented, 2-pc disc, ABS
WHEELS 11.0 x 20-in; 12.0 x 20-in, forged aluminum
TIRES 305/30R19 98Y; 325/30R19 101Y Goodyear Eagle F1 Supercar 3R (Tread 100)
DIMENSIONS
WHEELBASE 110.7 in
TRACK, F/R 64.1/62.8 in
LENGTH x WIDTH x HEIGHT 188.3 x 74.7 x 52.0 in
TURNING CIRCLE 38.7 ft
CURB WEIGHT 3,837 lb
WEIGHT DIST, F/R 55/45%
SEATING CAPACITY 4
HEADROOM, F/R 38.5/33.5 in
LEGROOM, F/R 43.9/29.9 in
SHOULDER ROOM, F/R 55.0/50.4 in
CARGO VOLUME 9.1 cu ft
TEST DATA
ACCELERATION TO MPH
0-30 1.6 sec
0-40 2.2
0-50 2.8
0-60 3.6
0-70 4.4
0-80 5.3
0-90 6.6
0-100 7.9
0-100-0 11.3
PASSING, 45-65 MPH 1.5
QUARTER MILE 11.7 sec @ 123.0 mph
BRAKING, 60-0 MPH 91 ft
LATERAL ACCELERATION 1.11 g (avg)
MT FIGURE EIGHT 23.0 sec @ 0.93 g (avg)
2.2-MI ROAD COURSE LAP 1:34.30 sec
TOP-GEAR REVS @ 60 MPH 1,900 rpm
CONSUMER INFO
BASE PRICE $71,295
PRICE AS TESTED $73,090
STABILITY/TRACTION CONTROL Yes/Yes
AIRBAGS 8: Dual front, front side, f/r curtain, front knee
BASIC WARRANTY 3 yrs/36,000 miles
POWERTRAIN WARRANTY 5 yrs/60,000 miles
ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE 5 yrs/60,000 miles
FUEL CAPACITY 19.0 gal
EPA CITY/HWY/COMB ECON 14/20/16 mpg
ENERGY CONS, CITY/HWY 241/169 kW-hrs/100 miles
CO2 EMISSIONS, COMB 1.20 lb/mile
RECOMMENDED FUEL Unleaded premium

Chevrolet Debuts Drag Camaro Packages at SEMA 2017 .
<p>New HOT WHEELS COPO Unveiled Plus Drag Development ZL1 Camaro that Promises 10.0 Second Elapsed Times</p>For 2017, Chevrolet's continued drag strip testing of the Camaro has lead to even more performance parts available for the 6th-gen that up the performance potential while keeping the factory warranty.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!