Reviews Porsche 718 Cayman S: 2nd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car

02:15  11 november  2017
02:15  11 november  2017 Source:   Motor Trend

Auto-Showdown: Audi R8 V10 RWS vs. Porsche 911 GT3 Touring

  Auto-Showdown: Audi R8 V10 RWS vs. Porsche 911 GT3 Touring A closer look at the two enthusiast specials from FrankfurtNo one is ever going to mistake an Audi R8 or a Porsche 911 for a Toyota Prius. They're clearly high-performance coupes no matter how you order them. But even with a 540-hp V-10 tucked right behind the driver's seat, it's impressive how little Audi did to differentiate the RWS from the regular version.To most people on the street, the R8 for hardcore driving enthusiasts could easily be mistaken for any other R8. You don't even have to order the red stripe if you don't want it.

Pro driver Randy Pobst hot laps the 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S around Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for Motor Trend ' s 2017 Best Driver ' s Car .

As the Porsche 911 roars deeper into supercar territory, the 718 Cayman S assumes the mantle of a pure sports car . The latest iteration is a midcycle update so big Porsche gave it a new generational designation. The major change: a turbo flat-four replaces the flat-six Caymans have had since birth.

As the Porsche 911 roars deeper into supercar territory, the 718 Cayman S assumes the mantle of a pure sports car. The latest iteration is a midcycle update so big Porsche gave it a new generational designation.

Toyota Previews Two Concept-i Variants Ahead of Tokyo Debut

  Toyota Previews Two Concept-i Variants Ahead of Tokyo Debut <p>Toyota’s vision of future mobility</p>Following the 2017 CES debut of the Toyota Concept-i, the Japanese automaker revealed a smaller, city-friendly Concept-i RIDE show car. This new concept, along with a new upright scooter, will take the stage at the upcoming 2017 Tokyo Motor Show.

Choosing the 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Christian Seabaugh Words, Motor Trend Staff September 20, 2017 . Motor Trend . Can the 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S Beat the GT4? Find Out on Ignition. Motortrend - Stefan Ogbac WordsSeptember 13, 2017 .

Pro driver Randy Pobst hot laps the 2017 Porsche 911 Turbo S around Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for Motor Trend ' s 2017 Best Driver ' s Car . Winner: Ferrari 488 GTB 2 nd Place : Porsche 718 Cayman S 4th Place : Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE 5th Place : Mercedes-AMG GT R 6th Place : Alfa

Research

2017 porsche 718
porsche 718

The major change: a turbo flat-four replaces the flat-six Caymans have had since birth. Displacing just 2.5 liters, it pumps out a flat-six-beating 350 hp and 309 lb-ft of torque. Both manual and automatic transmissions are available; we went with the PDK dual-clutch automatic. With it comes a Sport Response button, which unleashes 20 seconds of sharper throttle response. Lift, and the throttle stays open with the fuel off to keep the turbo spinning. In addition to new chassis tuning, the rear suspension is wider, and the steering rack has been lifted from the 911 Turbo.

It's Best Driver's Car week! Don't miss the incredible story of how we chose the 2017 Best Driver's Car right here, and stay tuned for the World's Greatest Drag Race, coming soon.

Toyota C-HR R-Tuned for SEMA is a Serious Track Weapon

  Toyota C-HR R-Tuned for SEMA is a Serious Track Weapon <p>Beats supercars around Willow Springs</p>Research Toyota's latest models on MSN Autos

Porsche 718 Cayman S : 2 nd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

Choosing the 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Motortrend - Christian Seabaugh Words, Motor Trend Staff September 20, 2017 . Motor Trend . Can the 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S Beat the GT4? Find Out on Ignition. Motortrend - Stefan Ogbac WordsSeptember 13, 2017 .

The Cayman's boosted four is more than enough to get 3,190 pounds hustling. Zero to 60 mph happens in 3.6 seconds, and the quarter mile passes in 12 seconds flat at 114.9 mph. Braking from 60 mph requires only 99 feet. It'll rip off a 23.7-second figure-eight lap at 0.89 average g and pulls 1.01 average g on the skidpad.

  Porsche 718 Cayman S: 2nd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend StaffWe Say

"Is this a four-cylinder engine? 'Cause it sure has a lot of power. Good push from the turbo at the start and great handling in the corners. Those tires stick to the ground, and the 718 feels natural. The body roll feeling is very small. The 718 gave me the confidence to keep going and push for more. The suspension is just what you want to feel in a car like this—stiff, sporty, rigid. You get a very good sense of what is happening on the road. That's a great sound coming from the engine, as well." Miguel Cortina

"It's a fantastic chassis and can use every single horsepower back there. Just the right amount of power. Steering is excellent. Among the best here. Talkative and light, quick enough but not too much. It's a great sports car, very much in the same vein as the Corvette. It doesn't set my hair on fire, but then, most people aren't as jaded to quick cars as I am. I could see this being a real dark horse.

2017 Porsche Macan Turbo with Performance Package First Test: More Is Better

  2017 Porsche Macan Turbo with Performance Package First Test: More Is Better How much performance does the Performance Package actually add?For a 4,500-pound crossover, those are some seriously impressive numbers. And the experience behind the wheel is just as commendable as it looks on paper. "The Macan is the type of car you can get in and just drive for hours—it's equally at home at the track as it is on the highway, and, somewhat surprisingly, off-road," noted features editor Christian Seabaugh.

Best Driver ? s Lap: Slot Car Seca - Motor Trend . Problem was, 718 Caymans were scarce. I found a dealer about an hour away with 1 base Cayman available for testing.

The 718 ' s are great cars and I love driving them, end of story .. My 718 Boxster *IS* an investment--in my happiness. In that case it will yield untold dividends.the best part of those dividends is the TAX man can't get a cut.

Problem: it sounds like someone put a muffler on my garbage disposal." Scott Evans

Read about other 2017 Best Driver's Car contenders:

  • Ferrari 488 GTB
  • Porsche 911 Turbo S
  • Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE
  • Lexus LC 500
  • Mercedes-AMG GT R
  • Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio
  • Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport
  • Aston Martin DB11
  • Nissan GT-R NISMO
  • Mazda MX-5 Miata RF
  • McLaren 570GT
  Porsche 718 Cayman S: 2nd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend Staff

"There is something really spirited and sweet about this car. It is so well balanced and smooth. It's so seamless in its power delivery and responsive to the slightest steering input. It handles speed with ease. It is light and nimble, generating a fast, enjoyable, comfortable, and balanced ride. There are those who miss the sound of the old throaty engine, but the tradeoff for a nice wide powerband is worth it. The car was not hurting for power, even going uphill. You just feel good in this car. It makes you feel like you are a better driver than you are." Alisa Priddle

2017-Porsche-718-Cayman-S-front-three-quarter-in-motion-00.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2017-Porsche-718-Cayman-S-front-three-quarter-in-motion-00.jpg

"The 718 Cayman S feels like one of those cars that needs no introduction. Probably because the chassis is so beautifully balanced, probably because the handling is so predictable, probably because each movement is connected directly to the brain's synapses. Nothing requires a second thought. The Cayman does everything right, and it never feels like it's trying too hard. This is a car that's best explained by simply driving it." Derek Powell

2018 Audi TT RS First Drive Review

  2018 Audi TT RS First Drive Review As the ultimate embodiment of the TT lineup, the RS adds even more performance swagger to the third-generation coupe’s brazen face.&nbsp;As the ultimate embodiment of the TT lineup, the RS adds even more performance swagger to the third-generation coupe's brazen face. But unlike the previous TT RS, which at times felt like a brilliant engine in search of a proper home, the new TT RS feels like a much more cohesive package.

Read more about 2017 Best Driver ’ s Car contenders: Winner: Ferrari 488 GTB 2 nd Place : Porsche 718 Cayman S 3rd Place : Porsche 911 Turbo S 4th Place : Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE 5th Place : Mercedes-AMG GT R 6th Place : Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio 7th Place

Porsche 718 Cayman S : 2 nd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff WordsSeptember 20, 2017 .

"I'm blown away with how good this car is to drive. It manages to be approachable and yet so good on the edge. I know the Cayman is helping me out in ways that I can't even begin to understand, but I don't care. It's so good that it lets me focus on driving. It'll let me know when I screw up or do something wrong, but it doesn't hold it against me. Even when the car intervenes, like traction control pulling power, it's so subtle that it makes me think that I did it. It's an exceptionally balanced car. Driving this car feels like using a broken-in baseball mitt—it just fits. Feels right. Under-braked, though. Real mushy pedal at the end of the downhill run. This car is so fast that I want more brakes from it." Christian Seabaugh

2017-Porsche-718-Cayman-S-rear-three-quarter-in-motion-01.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2017-Porsche-718-Cayman-S-rear-three-quarter-in-motion-01.jpg Randy Says

"The car is one of those rare kinds of cars where from the first time I turn the wheel I get a smile on my face. The steering response is relatively quick, and it's easy, with the polar moment of a mid-engine design, it makes the chassis not work very hard to change direction. That's part of the advantage of it. The other advantage of the mid-engine design is you get the majority of the weight over the drive wheels, which is really good for traction under acceleration and for braking but without the tricky polar moment of having the engine all the way out in the back.

2017 Porsche 911 Targa 4 GTS First Test: Performance, Value, and Style

  2017 Porsche 911 Targa 4 GTS First Test: Performance, Value, and Style 20 seconds to drop the top, 3 seconds to drop an Audi R8 V10The Targa body style has been a fixture of the 911 line since 1966, but it took until 2015 for Targa and GTS to appear together. Consider GTS to be a sort of high-performance value package, built for speed as well as comfort (unlike the pricier, race-hardened GT3, which loses its rear seats and various creature comforts in pursuit of pure performance). GTS is available on rear- and all-wheel-drive coupes and cabriolets and Targa models (all-wheel drive only), and it represents a savings of about 10 percent over an identically specced S models.

Porsche 718 Cayman S : 2 nd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . 20 September, 2017 Scott Evans Words, Motor Trend Staff Words.

Read Motor Trend ’ s Porsche 718 Cayman review to get the latest information on models, prices, specs, MPG, fuel economy and photos. Toggle the Motor Trend Mobile Search. Car Reviews. Open.

"The advantage of the four cylinder turbo here is the midrange torque. There's a big punch in the midrange. And I'm not waiting for the revs to build for the power to build. It's already here now. And the transmission knows it. PDK is just so smart on track. It holds the gear at a relatively low rpm like in the low 5,000s. With the six cylinder, I bet it would have down shifted in those situations, and this car doesn't. And the shifts are really quick and accurate.

2017-Porsche-718-Cayman-S-side-in-motion-01.jpg© Motor Trend Staff 2017-Porsche-718-Cayman-S-side-in-motion-01.jpg

"The brakes are really good. They're not oh-my-God downforce R-compound carbon-ceramic good, but they're very good. And they didn't change. There's a little more pedal travel than I would want in a perfect world. But the braking force was good. The car has a little bit of push. Enter the corner with a little bit of patience. Don't go to power early. If you go to power early, you can create understeer with the Cayman S because it's a mid-engine. The front end is light. Keep weight on the nose or even trail-brake it a little to get it to come into the corner. The advantage of that little bit extra understeer is the stability that comes with it. And I found that this is a car that I could drive harder and harder.

"The car rewards aggressive driving, for me anyway. And I was never in a position where the power broke the rear tires loose. I don't slam the gas down, anyway. But it puts power to the ground really, really well.

"Marry this car. This is the kind of car you marry because it's so fun to be around and it's good-looking and shows you a good time and never tries to stab you in the back. And it might not have the extremes of the 600 horsepower sports car, but it is so rewarding to drive and hang around with and have with you for long periods of time."

Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car

  Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car The 911 gets even wilder

Porsche 718 Cayman S : 2 nd Place – 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver ’ s Car . MotorTrend ’ s World’ s Greatest Drag Race 2017 is an epic race.

Read about other 2017 Best Driver ’ s Car contenders 2018 Porsche 718 Cayman , Boxster GTS Make 365 HP. Lamborghini Four-Door Supercar Reportedly Back Under Consideration.

  Porsche 718 Cayman S: 2nd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car © Motor Trend Staff
2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S
POWERTRAIN/CHASSIS
DRIVETRAIN LAYOUT Mid-engine, RWD
ENGINE TYPE Turbocharged flat-4, alum block/heads
VALVETRAIN DOHC, 4 valves/cyl
DISPLACEMENT 152.4 cu in/2,497 cc
COMPRESSION RATIO 9.5:1
POWER (SAE NET) 350 hp @ 6,500 rpm
TORQUE (SAE NET) 309 lb-ft @ 1,900 rpm
REDLINE 7,300 rpm
WEIGHT TO POWER 9.1 lb/hp
TRANSMISSION 7-speed twin-clutch auto
AXLE/FINAL-DRIVE RATIO 3.62:1/2.24:1
SUSPENSION, FRONT; REAR Struts, coil springs, adj shocks, anti-roll bar; struts, coil springs, adj shocks, anti-roll bar
STEERING RATIO 12.5:1-15.0:1
TURNS LOCK-TO-LOCK 2.5
BRAKES, F; R 13.0-in vented, drilled disc; 11.8-in vented, drilled disc, ABS
WHEELS 8.0 x 20-in; 10.0 x 20-in, forged aluminum
TIRES 235/35R20 88Y; 265/35R20 95Y Pirelli P Zero N1 (Tread 220)
DIMENSIONS
WHEELBASE 97.4 in
TRACK, F/R 59.6/60.6 in
LENGTH x WIDTH x HEIGHT 172.4 x 70.9 x 51.0 in
TURNING CIRCLE 36.0 ft
CURB WEIGHT 3,190 lb
WEIGHT DIST, F/R 44/56%
SEATING CAPACITY 2
HEADROOM, F/R 39.1/— in
LEGROOM, F/R 42.2/— in
SHOULDER ROOM, F/R 51.3/— in
CARGO VOLUME 5.3 (front), 9.7 (rear) cu ft
TEST DATA
ACCELERATION TO MPH
0-30 1.3 sec
0-40 1.9
0-50 2.7
0-60 3.6
0-70 4.7
0-80 5.9
0-90 7.3
0-100 9.0
0-100-0 12.7
PASSING, 45-65 MPH 1.8
QUARTER MILE 12.0 sec @ 114.9 mph
BRAKING, 60-0 MPH 99 ft
LATERAL ACCELERATION 1.01 g (avg)
MT FIGURE EIGHT 23.7 sec @ 0.89 g (avg)
2.2-MI ROAD COURSE LAP 1:40.05 sec
TOP-GEAR REVS @ 60 MPH 1,600 rpm
CONSUMER INFO
BASE PRICE $67,350
PRICE AS TESTED $95,475
STABILITY/TRACTION CONTROL Yes/Yes
AIRBAGS 8: Dual front, fr side, fr head, fr knee
BASIC WARRANTY 4 yrs/50,000 miles
POWERTRAIN WARRANTY 4 yrs/50,000 miles
ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE 4 yrs/50,000 miles
FUEL CAPACITY 16.9 gal
EPA CITY/HWY/COMB ECON 21/28/24 mpg
ENERGY CONS, CITY/HWY 160/120 kW-hrs/100 miles
CO2 EMISSIONS, COMB 0.82 lb/mile
RECOMMENDED FUEL Unleaded premium

Porsche 911 Turbo S: 3rd Place - 2017 Motor Trend Best Driver's Car .
The 911 gets even wilder

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!