The page you are looking for is temporarily unavailable.
Please try again later

Sport Twitter reacts to controversial pickoff call that went against Nationals

09:51  13 october  2017
09:51  13 october  2017 Source:   yardbarker.com

Nationals assistant hitting coach Jacque Jones suspended

  Nationals assistant hitting coach Jacque Jones suspended The Washington Nationals say that assistant hitting coach Jacque Jones has been suspended with pay pending an internal investigation. The team says the suspension is connected to a legal matter.The club announced Jones' suspension less than a half-hour before the scheduled first pitch of Game 1 of Washington's NL Division Series against the defending World Series champion Chicago Cubs on Friday night.The 42-year-old Jones retired as a player in 2008 after 10 years with four teams.---More AP baseball: https://apnews.

Twitter reacts to controversial pickoff call that went against Nationals . Touch and go . Yasiel Puig of the Dodgers hits into an RBI fielders choice against the Diamondbacks on Oct. 7 in Los Angeles, California.

Twitter reacts to controversial pickoff call that went against Nationals . The Cubs shortstop Addison Russell hits a 2-RBI double against the Nationals during game five of NLDS on October 12 in Washington DC.

The Nationals and Cubs battled it out in an instant classic on Thursday night, in a game that lasted over four-and-a-half hours.

When it was all said and done, the Cubs won Game 5 of the National League Division Series by a 9-8 margin, and will advance to take on the Dodgers.

The loss for the Nationals added to the long-standing history of playoff losses for a Washington D.C. pro sports team. The Nationals, Wizards, Capitals and Redskins are now a combined 3-14 in winner-take-all playoff games over the last 12 seasons, and this loss was certainly tough to swallow for fans, given the number of miscues the team committed.

Rep. Scalise, shot during Congress baseball practice, throws 1st pitch in D.C.

  Rep. Scalise, shot during Congress baseball practice, throws 1st pitch in D.C. The National League Division Series began with a powerful moment in the nation's capital. Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA) - who was shot while practicing for the annual Congressional baseball game in June - threw out the ceremonial first pitch prior to Friday's series opener between the Washington Nationals and Chicago Cubs at Nationals Park.

But it wasn’t all their fault, either, as the Nationals were on the wrong end of a controversial call , and it happened in the biggest He broke the incredible streak by throwing over to first base against the Cincinnati Reds back in April. His first pickoff attempt that night went well, but his second throw over

Twitter reacted to the questionable calls that didn't go Duke's way at the end of its thriller against Kansas in the Elite Eight. Here’s how Twitter reacted to the controversial calls

But it wasn’t all their fault, either, as the Nationals were on the wrong end of a controversial call, and it happened in the biggest moment of the game, when they appeared to have closer Wade Davis on the ropes.

The play in question happened in the eighth inning, when the Nationals had runners on first and second, with two outs. Trea Turner was at the plate, and during the at-bat, Jose Lobaton was caught off the first-base bag. Willson Contreras threw to Anthony Rizzo, who applied the tag. Lobaton was ruled safe, but the play was reviewed and overturned, although it sure looked to be inconclusive.

The inning ended on that play, and social media exploded just moments after. Here are some of the best tweets.

And the memes came rolling in as well.

It’s hard not to feel bad for Nats fans, especially since the team got hosed earlier in the game on a blown strikeout call.

Related slideshow: Best images of 2017 MLB playoffs (Provided by Photo Services)

Ref stands by call on Seahawks' controversial TD .
As the New York Giants and Seattle Seahawks continued to debate whether receiver Paul Richardson's 38-yard, fourth-quarter touchdown reception was actually a catch, referee Tony Corrente, via a pool report, explained the controversial call. "The receiver went into the air, had control of the ball, lost control, re-grasped the ball and at the same time he did, the defender grabbed the ball, also," he said. "They went to the ground simultaneously with the football. Then they started a little wrestling match.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!